Welcome to
GRK 2339 IntComSin

Logo GRK 2339


Research Training Group 2339 (RTG 2339)
Interfaces, Complex Structures, and Singular Limits



Next appointments:

Wednesday, May 8, from 9 am - 5 pm, Soft-Skill-Seminar about time and self-management, University of Regensburg in room M201.

April 9-12, 2024, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

further information

Prof. Dr. Christina Büsing (RWTH Aachen)
Prof. Dr. Tanja Clees (Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg)
Prof. Dr. Anja Fischer (TU Dortmund)
Dr. Caroline Geiersbach (WIAS Berlin)
Dr. Cornelia Grabe (DLR)
Dr. Evelyn Herberg (Universität Heidelberg)
Dr. Lena Hupp (Research Scientist Siemens AG)
Dr. Imke Joormann (TU Braunschweig)
Prof. Dr. Barbara Kaltenbacher (Universität Klagenfurt)
Prof. Dr. Kathrin Klamoth (Bergische Universität Wuppertal)
Prof. Dr. Nicole Megow (Universität Bremen)
Prof. Dr. Birgit Rudloff (Universität Wien)

Prof. Dr. Luise Blank (Universität Regensburg)
Prof. Dr. Frauke Liers (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg)
Prof. Dr. Andrea Walther (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

25-27 January, 2024, University of Regensburg
On the occasion of the 60th birthday of Luise Blank we will enjoy interesting talks on nonlinear optimisation and fast solution of discretised differential equations, meeting old and new friends, and enjoy some social programme around this one-day workshop and colloquium the day before.
programme and further information
Prof. Dr. Helmut Abels (University of Regensburg)
Prof. Dr. Harald Garcke (University of Regensburg)
Prof. Dr. Balázs Kovács (University of Paderborn)

Research stays in 2024

In 2024 we'll have the following doctoral students as guests:
Andrea Signori, Politecnico di Milano (March 1 - May 30, University of Regensburg)


Research stays in 2023

In 2023 we'll have the following doctoral students as guests:

  • Lina Schmitz, Leibniz University Hannover (November 20-25, University of Regensburg)
  • Andrea Poiatti, Politecnico di Milano (November 9 - December 16, University of Regensburg)
  • Tokuhiro Eto, University of Tokyo (April 3-June 29, University of Regensburg)
  • Luigi Roberti, University of Vienna (March 13-24, University of Regensburg)
  • Andrea Di Primio, Politecnico di Milano (February-May, University of Regensburg)
  • Andrea Poiatti, Politecnico di Milano (January 22- February 11, University of Regensburg)

The annual meeting of the research training group IntComSin took place on October 3-6, 2023 in Kloster Weltenburg.

Annual Meeting Weltenburg 2023




The research training group IntComSin came together in Kloster Weltenburg for this years annual meeting in October 4-7, 2022.

Annual Meeting Weltenburg 2022

Nadja Ray accepts a call to a W3 professorship for Geomatics and Geomathematics at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt.

Dennis Trautwein received the John Butcher prize for Numerical Analysis at the Conference SciCade 2022 for his work on Viscoelastic Cahn--Hilliard models for tumour growth.
Butcher Prize Trautwein

Butcher Prize Trautwein


The research training group IntComSin came together in Kloster Weltenburg for this years annual meeting in October 3-6, 2021.

Annual Meeting Weltenburg 2021


In context to the junior scientist support of the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) Nadja Ray, a project leader within the GRK „IntComSin“, was among the first who received the head of junior research group status at FAU. The press release is available here.

The research training group IntComSin came together in Ellwangen for this years annual meeting in October. Interesting talks about individual research results as well as further discussions on how to proceed with open questions were a strong core of a successful convention. The question and answer-session, where the candidates anonymously questioned the supervisors on every topic of academic life and life with academia, was received favorably by either sides. A four hour lasting hiking trip with great view of the local landscape rounded the conference from a collaborative point of view.

Annual Meeting Weltenburg 2020


March 15 - 19, 2020, Ellwangen, Schönenberg conference and retreat centre

further information

Andreas Prohl (University of Tübingen)
Fabio Nobile (EPF Lausanne)
Benjamin Gess (MPI Leipzig and University of Bielefeld)


November 22 - 23, 2019, FAU Erlangen, Mathematics Department H 13

Workshop on Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing

Invited Speakers:
Ricardo Nochetto, University of Maryland
Ralf Kornhuber, Freie Universität Berlin
Rupert Klein, Freie Universität Berlin
Willy Dörfler, KIT
Peter Benner, MPI für Dynamik Komplexer Technischer Systeme
Pedro Morin, Univ. Nacional del Litoral, Argentina
Alfred Schmidt, Universität Bremen

Eberhard Bänsch

From September 30th to October 2nd the research training group IntComSin met for the second annual meeting at the historic monastery Weltenburg. Beside the exchange on current research areas and presentations of new findings, a lecture about “Do’s and don’ts in scientific publications” took place. The social highlight was a canoe trip on the river Danube from Neustadt a.d. Donau back to the monastery. In addition, the team spirit was strengthened by the evenings in relaxed atmosphere.

Annual Meeting Weltenburg 2019

Weltenburg 2019 Kanutour

COPDESC Workshop

Regensburg, March 25 - 28, 2019
University Regensburg, Faculty of Mathematics, H31


Opening Colloquium

Regensburg, October 26th, 2018 at 13.15
University Regensburg, Faculty of Mathematics, H31


13.15 Opening

13.20 Prof. Dr. Peter Markowich (KAUST)

„Continuum Modeling of Transportation Networks with Differential Equations“

14.00 Prof. Dr. Sunčica Čanić (UC Berkeley)

„Mathematical Interface Methods for Next Generation Vascular Stent Design“

15.00 Welcome addresses:
Prof. Dr. Udo Hebel, President University of Regensburg
Prof. Dr. Günter Leugering, Vice President FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

15.20 Coffee break

16.00 Prof. Dr. Elisabetta Rocca (University of Pavia)

„Phase-field Models for Biological Systems, Complex Fluids, and Special Materials “

16.50 Prof. Dr. Charles M. Elliott (University of Warwick)

„Variational, Surface and Geometric PDEs Arising in Cell Biology“

19.00 Dinner (Bischofshof, Regensburg)

from the left: Peter Markowich, Charles M. Elliott, Harald Garcke, Sunčica Čanić, Günter Leugering, Udo Hebel, Günther Grün